Why your dentist shouldn’t be the only one doing yearly check-ups

Posted: December 27, 2011 in Uncategorized

Happy Hanukkah to Me!!!!!!!!!!

As some of you may have seen on Facebook, I have recently received the book “Movement” by Gray Cook.


What I love about this book and Gray Cook in general, is how I find myself going through the book and thinking,”Yep, that makes sense. That concept isn’t too hard. Yes, I knew that.” By the end of the chapter, Gray lays everything out in such a manner that I wonder why I never thought of any of this stuff on my own.

He is like that favorite teacher you once had who makes even the hardest topics seem easy.

Of what I have read so far, the most powerful and paradigm shifting statement made by Gray was this:

Insurance companies will not reimburse for functional movement restoration when the patient is pain-free until researchers can provide overpowering evidence that movement dysfunction is an appreciable risk factor for injury. Other healthcare professionals screen for and treat risk factors as commonplace, but this is not yet true for musculoskeletal issues and rehabilitation.

I am a big believer in preventative medicine; that of general medicine, dentistry and (as you can probably already guess) musculoskeletal.

That being said, most chiropractors take a lot of heat for suggesting that patients continue to come to the clinic even after they are out of pain. To combat this notion, many chiropractors go on a public relations rampage and market themselves as “that chiropractor that only treats the patient until they are out of pain.” If you don’t believe me, do a quick little google search on your local chiropractor and go to the “FAQ” section. One of the FAQ’s is usually, “Once I am out of pain, do I still need to come in and get treated?” The answer is usually something along the lines of, “No, in fact we never want to see you again.” (ok, I embellish a little, but you get the drift)

I think many chiropractors and healthcare providers in general are  scared of being viewed as that money hungry doctor and forget what might be in the best interest of their patients. (Not to mention, insurance does not pay for “well” or “maintenance” care as Cook mentions above.)

If we as practicioners are dealing with an active population, with patients who depend on their physical function for work (Fireman,police, etc.), or with any patient that does not want to live with pain, a movement screen (even when that patient is well) is most certainly in the best interest of that patient. 

And in the end, that is really all that matters.

and if the patients still aren' t happy, hire George Clooney

Comments
  1. Nick Stryniak says:

    Well Said Justin, I look forward to reading it (among many others on my list that I haven’t gotten to yet..ugh)

  2. Jessi Wright says:

    Justin, this blog is great so far. I love this first topic and continuing care for patient’s that are out of pain is still a subject that I have a hard time conveyingto my patient’s. I’m hoping to be better by the time I graduate. When are you finishing up and where are you thinking of setting up practice?

    • Hey Jessi, thanks for the kind words and glad you enjoyed it! I am graduating in July and am looking to set up practice back home in Jersey. I have begun the process of looking for space to rent. What about you?

  3. […] Why your dentist shouldn’t be the only one doing yearly check-ups […]

  4. […] how he would score on a Functional Movement Screen. I have also talked about this in the past here. I then realized that the FMS stops once pain is present. Still, like many of us out there, I am […]

  5. […] them off for a few months to work on those patterns. Considering I wrote about this  awhile ago in Why your dentists shouldn’t be the only one doing yearly check-ups, I obviously agree with him and feel it is certainly another viable option in which we can help […]

Leave a Reply

