Some Monday Randomness…

Posted: February 20, 2012 in Uncategorized

1)This weekend I was back home in New Jersey and had a chance to watch some high school basketball games. My old high school was playing in the Somerset County semifinals and it turned out to be the craziest finish to a game I have ever seen in my life. For the game story click here. For those of you not wanting to read the story let me just tell you the game went into overtime and was won on a pass deflection that bounced off the defender’s hand and through the hoop. Crazy, Amazing,(L) insane? (sorry, I couldn’t resist)

2)On a more relevent -to- this- blog note; since it was a tournament, I had a chance to catch parts of 3 different games (girls and boys). What I found interesting was watching each team warm-up and observing the quality of movement. I’m going to pretend I didn’t see the one team static stretch for 15 minutes on the court before the game and focus on the teams that were at least attempting to do a dynamic warm-up. One common warm-up move was the walking lunge. The walking lunge (IF DONE CORRECTLY), is a phenomenal exercise that challenges both mobility and stability as well as an exercise that can be butchered very easily. Without going into too much detail (don’t worry that is coming up later this week), let’s just say some of the lunge patterns left ALOT to be desired.

Anyway, Happy President’s Day and stay tuned for my breakdown of the lunge pattern later this week!!

Comments

Leave a Reply

