Some Monday Randomness…

Posted: April 16, 2012 in Uncategorized

1) I’m totally writing this post from the beach right now. And here is a picture to prove it…


As some of you know, my roommates and I are renting a house on Long island one block from the beach. Unfortunately, our lease is up at the end of June because the real beach season starts. Ya know, the one with Ronnie, Sam, and the Situation. This also means the rent increases by like 6000%. I’m sure people who actually have jobs, an income, and full-blown pay checks can afford that.
2) I previously mentioned my interest in Intermittent Fasting(IF). Well, my curiosity won out this time as I will be starting officially today. Good luck to me!
That being said, on John Berardi’s e-book advice, I have been giving it a test run over the last two days.  Basically, I have woken up, drank water (and coffee) the first hour or so and then about an hour later I have a shake with water, green supplement, and 15 grams of protein. I did that again a few hours later. Finally, at about 6 pm, I had my big meal for the day. (I crushed a Chipotle burrito).

One thing I have going for me is that I have never been a huge breakfast guy.  I enjoy it and eat it because I think(thought) it was healthy but  I rarely wake up in the morning hungry and it does not faze me at all to skip the meal altogether or at least push it back a few hours. I actually never really ate breakfast until college because like I said, I simply was not that hungry when I first woke up.
There are a thousand different ways to IF ranging from 12/12 (12 hours fasting/12 hours feeding), to 23/1 (23 hours fasting/1 hour feeding). Since I actually like myself, I will be avoiding the latter for the time being. There are also plans in which you spend one day per week totally fasted. And at this point of my life, I’d rather only do that one day per year( it called  Yom Kippur).

Anywhoo, my first week will look something like this (12 hour fasted/4-6 hours of  under eating/the rest overeating):

  • Pre workout 8 am – Coffee, BCAA’s
  • Post workout 10 am- Banana, greens supplement, 15-20 g of whey protein
  • Under eating (between 1:30pm and 6:00pm ,depending when I have a chance to eat) 1- 2 cups of green veggies and 20 g of protein (Baked chicken)
  • Over eating (7:00pm 10:00pm)- Big meal. About 100 grams of protein and as much veggies as I want either in a salad or cooked. Also on my workout days, I will be consuming more carbs so about 2 cups of mashed sweet potatoes (120 grams) should do the trick. I also may have a small handful of raw nuts and beans. There are still some calculations to be done as I need to see if I am getting in enough protein for the day. If not, I’ll find a spot to add more.

Again, this is my workout day so I will be eating a higher amount of carbs. It is recommended to cycle high/low carb days preferably in conjunction with intense workouts. I am looking to have about 3-4 higher carb days. Also, this is just a brief overview and does not include my full meals or vitamins. If any of you have read Jason Ferruggia’s ‘Renegade Diet’, this may look familiar as I am loosely following it.

3) Coinciding with my IF experiment, I am also returning to my regular workout schedule. Over the past two weeks my exercise included some light circuit training and golf. I know I’m ready to get back to the weights because mentally, I am itching to see/plan what my next phase will be. Being mentally ready to train is just as important as feeling physically ready. I am certainly there.
4) Did you ever wonder how pro golfers hit the ball so far when for the most part, they look like guys you would go drinking with? Me too. Luckily, I will have the answer for you later this week.

Spoiler Alert: Hip Hinge (Yes, again!!)

Until next time…

Leave a Reply

