Some Monday Randomness…

Posted: April 23, 2012 in Uncategorized

1) I’ve had a ton of questions regarding my Intermittent Fasting (IF) experiment, so I figured I would use this post to highlight my experience so far…

  • I thought the hardest part about IF would be the actual fasting and under eating. I was wrong. The hardest part is actually the over eating period. Specifically, trying to get in enough high quality calories in a short amount of time has been a challenge. I have a new-found respect for skinny guys trying to gain weight. As someone who has never had that problem my entire life, I was always jealous of people who could eat however much they wanted and not gain an ounce. But, eating enough high quality calories is not easy! Sure I could go to McDonald’s and get enough calories in two little sandwiches, but to eat clean protein, healthy fats, and carbs is no joke!
  • I have made an effort to drink more water of late (watch out for a post later in the week on how I did so). One observation I have made is that when I drink large quantities of (room temperature) water in a fasted state, it totally screws with my body temperature as I get really cold in a hurry. My buddy Dave Fultz pointed out that room temperature water is still much colder than body temperature but I seem to be much more sensitive to it without food in my system.
  • One of the things I had heard about IF is that you will feel great while fasted. I totally agree! It has almost been a mood elevator for me as I often notice; more energy = better mood. This has probably been my favorite observation so far.
  • During the under eating phase, I started by eating two cups of green vegetables and a baked chicken breast. I did this for two days and realized that immediately after this meal, I felt like I needed to go to bed. I was exhausted. I then remembered the guidelines of the book clearly stating that if you eat too much during the under eating phase you will know it immediately because your body has gone into parasympathetic mode (rest and digest). To fix this, I cut the chicken breast in half. Problem solved.

2) I recently finished reading a book by the guys of The Buried Life. For those of you not familiar with the story, four college age kids from Canada got together and made a simple bucket list. It was titled ‘What Do You Want To Do Before You Die.’ Unlike most of us (myself included), they actually acted on the list. They agreed that for every item they crossed off their bucket list, they would help a random person accomplish a goal of theirs. Some of you may have seen the MTV show (it’s the same guys). 

The book is not a typical memoir that I expected when I ordered it. It is much more creative than that. The guys posted this question online, “What do you want to do before you die?” and chose their favourites (I intentionally spelt that in Canadian in honour of the guys) out of ten of thousands of responses. They then gave the chosen ones to their favorite artist who drew pictures to illustrate each one. Some items on the list are funny, some sad, some inspirational. All in all, it was a great read and something I would highly recommend.

Also, to my fellow colleagues, as I was reading it struck me that this is fantastic book to have in the waiting room of an office. Just a thought.

3) Check this Dwyane Wade video out. He just randomly stopped in SOHO to play a pick-up game on the street. That’s awesome!

Leave a Reply

