3 Groundbreaking Tips To Increase Your Water Consumption

Posted: April 26, 2012 in Uncategorized

I think we have all heard for years how beneficial staying hydrated is for our health. I won’t bore you with the reasons as to why because a quick Google search will give you every benefit known to man.

Additionally, you have also probably read a random fitness magazine,  “3 Hydration Tips.” They usually go something like this…

  1. For every shot you take at the bar, drink a gallon of water.
  2. Take a sip of water every time your boss yells at you.
  3. Every time you go outside for a cigarette break, chug some water.

Ok, it might not have said that exactly. The thing is, you need to do something that is going to work for, well, you.

I’ve also heard of  chugging a half-gallon of water as soon as I wake up in the morning. Maybe that works for some people. For me? I’m lucky if I make it from my bed to the bathroom without tripping over my dirty laundry. Drinking that much water?  It’s not going to happen. I don’t smoke cigarettes either, so that’s a no-go.

But I digress…

As you may or may not have realized by now, I have made a conscious effort to increase my water consumption over the past few weeks. Below are three simple changes (yet groundbreaking :)) I have made that seem to work for me. And more importantly, they seem to be sustainable.

1) Bring water to the gym…and actually drink it– This may seem a little obvious to some people out there, but for me it is only something that I just started doing. I pride myself on getting in and out of the gym as quick as possible mainly so I can get on with my day but also to prevent my eyes from bleeding due to some exercise selections of my fellow gym patrons.

yep, this is one

Also, I’m just not that thirsty when I work out so I never really thought about bringing anything with me. However, since I am now making an effort to consume more water, I always take a few sips after my warm up, at least once during training, and sip water the entire 15 minute ride home. It seems like a small thing, but it certainly adds up.

2) If you take medication, vitamins, or supplements in pill form…take each one individually- How many of you out there who take multiple pills per day throw the entire handful in your mouth and with one swig of water, get them all down? I know for years (actually until about 2 weeks ago) I was guilty of this. I think it makes me feel like a man….or is primal…or Idk, I just did it. Now however, I take each pill individually with a giant sip of water. Don’t get me wrong, this is not easy. I am taking BCAA’s currently and the serving size is 13 pills! That’s a ton of water (over 16 oz.) in one sitting, at least for me.

3) Take a Green Supplement- I know this is kind of cheating, but it adds to the bottom line. After recommendations from all the cool kids, I have added a green supplement to my routine. To read more on the benefits of this, click here. For the purposes of this article, I usually mix a scoop of greens with 20 oz of water. Sometimes, I even take two scoops per day!!

High Five!

 With these three small changes, I have increased my water consumption substantially. Before, I was lucky to get in about 1/4 gallon. Now, I easily drink between 3/4 and 1 gallon per day without blinking an eye.

Again, it’s a few small changes that I can easily stick with over the long haul!

Have a great day!

Comments
  1. Zack Conklin says:

    Nice post Justin. I will be using your “each pill separately” as a fatfact. Launch is in one week! http://www.facebook.com/myfatfact

Leave a Reply

