Some Monday Randomness…

Posted: April 30, 2012 in Uncategorized

1) A quick update on my Intermittent Fasting (IF):

  • I still feel great. I am not overly hungry during the day while either fasting or under eating and my energy levels are through the roof.
  • Since I don’t own a scale and have not weighed myself in about a year, I really can’t report if I have gained or lost weight. What I have been keeping an eye on is how my clothes fit, particularly the waistline of my pants and belt. Before I started IF, I was fastening my belt on the 2nd hole. Now 3 weeks later, I am onto the 3rd hole. I think it is safe to say I have lost about a .5 inch around my waist line.
  • People have asked me how sustainable eating like this really is. My answer: Very. Most people are extremely busy during the work day and sitting down to eat a full meal or a few small meals can often be a challenge. IF allows for less worry about food during the work day with more focus on actual work.

2) I just wanted to give a shout out to my buddy John Gaglione at Gaglione Strength. Over the past two weeks, I have been going twice a week for training. Last week, myself and The Prowler had a date for the first time in years.

My only goal was to get through without puking. I am happy to report… Mission Accomplished!!

Does anyone remember the peg boards from gym class? I know I just remember them as the thing that nobody could really ever do.

Well, not much has changed. Gags just put one up at his gym and I spent a few minutes experimenting with it yesterday. You want to talk about some serious shoulder stability, grip strength, and core stabilization along with a bruised ego? Yep, the peg board has it all.

The biggest thing about the peg board is the amount of control you need while stabilizing with one arm so you can delicately place the other peg into the next hole.

For me, it’s certainly a challenge that  I will work towards!

3) You have to feel sorry for Derrick Rose of the Chicago Bulls who had a non-traumatic ACL tear this past weekend in the NBA playoffs. His entire season seemed like a downward spiral with this final injury being the straw that broke the camel’s back.

Check back later in the week for some more thoughts on this topic.

Have a great week!

Leave a Reply

