Some Monday Randomness…

Posted: May 14, 2012 in Uncategorized

Hey guys,

With Bored (get it??) exams rapidly approaching, I will keep this post short and sweet…

1) I have recently fell in love with hummus. I had always enjoyed it as a healthy condiment, but in Chiro school, the brand they carried tasted like garbage so I stopped eating it. I thought I just didn’t like hummus, but I realize now, it was just the brand.

Without naming names, this is the brand I don’t like

Anyway, here are two awesome and healthy alternatives that I have been using regularly:

  1. I now add a heaping tablespoon of regular (or garlic) hummus to my salad every night. In addition to apple  cider vinegar and a tiny bit of olive oil, the hummus adds something heavenly to the dressing. Instead of packing on the fat and calories with your typical creamy style dressings, I have found that hummus adds that creamy texture without any associated guilt and self-hatred that we usually get from unhealthy meals.
  2. If any of you out there are fans of deviled eggs like I am, you will love this next little trick. Instead of removing the yolk of the egg and mixing it with mayonnaise and then replacing this mixture back in the egg white, replace the mayonnaise with your favorite hummus recipe. This will add the flavor and creamy texture of the mayonnaise without the extra fat. Try it and thank me later!

2) If you have not seen this already, my buddy Todd Bumgardner posted an interview with ‘The Glute Guy’ last week. Bret Contrares certainly knows his way around a set of cheeks, and proves it in this interview. Todd actually asked me if I had any questions I would like to ask Mr. Contrares and some of that is also included in the article. Overall, it’s a fantastic read so check it out here.

3) How many times have you heard the big-wigs in the Strength and Conditioning community talk about how people need to lift weights and gets stronger because it will carry over into their everyday life? I know I hear it all the time.

Well, I am proud (and embarrassed) to report that strength training may have saved me from serious injury this weekend. Let me explain:

My friends who know me understand that I am in no way, shape, or form an outdoors person. I don’t hunt, fish, or do anything of the sort. This past weekend, it was my buddy Sean’s bachelor party in which the main event of the day was airsoft. For those of you who don’t know, airsoft is like the new and cooler version of paintball where people passively take out all anger on each other by shooting each other with bb guns. The airsoft bb’s hurt less than regular bb’s but will still leave quite the mark.

Anyway, we were playing in the woods when I came across a hunting lookout spot about 15 ft up a ladder in a tree. To make a long story short, I got up to the top, got shot immediately, and was out of the game.

This is where it gets interesting. As I was on my way down the ladder, I slipped and was well on my way to meet mother earth rather quickly. Luckily, as I was slipping, I managed to grab ahold of something and basically do a pull-up back onto the lookout floor. It was like a scene from Cliffhanger.

All jokes aside, without that grip strength and pull-up ability, I may not be laughing about this right now.

4) Finally, check this story out. For all of us out there who think school is hard and it takes too long, you may feel a little silly after reading that.

Sometimes a bit of perspective is nice.

Ok, that’s all for today. For my friends taking boards this week, good luck! Hopefully, it’s the last one ever!

To everyone else, I’ll get back with you next week!

Leave a Reply

