Some Monday Randomness…

Posted: June 11, 2012 in Uncategorized

1) Hey guys and gals, sorry for the lack of blog action over the past few weeks. I’d have to attribute a lot of it to a severe case of writer’s block.

Writing (or at least attempting to write) a weekly blog with fresh content is something I certainly never realized would be so difficult (or rewarding) until I actually started doing it. At this point, I think I fully attribute my ability to come up with new content to the amount of reading I am doing. This reading includes basically anything and everything (ok, maybe not PEOPLE Magazine). Over the past week, I have picked up my reading game and am currently reading about three books. Like magic, the wheels have begun to turn once again!

2) Piggy-backing on the theme from above, one of the books I have started to read is “Why Zebras Don’t Get Ulcers: The Acclaimed Guide to Stress-Related Disease, and Coping”

This book has been on my radar for quite some time now, so I am finally taking the plunge. Seeing as I have a background as a Psychology major, I am naturally drawn to this type of book. Also, one of the most revealing things that I have taken away from my clinical internship year has been the level of perceived stress that my patients are under. Whether I am treating a college student or an 85-year-old Grandma, it seems that when asked to identify their level of stress on our intake form, almost everyone checks, “Very High.”

Now this often becomes a question of the chicken or the egg. We know that muscle and joint pain can be caused by stress, but is the fact that they present to the clinic in pain causing their stress? Or, is their stress causing muscle and joint pain? I am sure there is truth to both.

Look our for some new thoughts on the issue after I read this book!

3) Check out the day my buddy Todd Frazier of the Cincinnati Reds had a few weeks back.

For those of you too lazy to click the link: Todd was eating lunch at a Pittsburgh restaurant when a man at another table started choking on his steak. Todd ran over and gave the guy the Heimlich Maneuver, dislodging the steak from this gentleman’s airway, saving his life.

After that, there was still a game to be played. Todd went on to have 2 hits and 2 RBI’s against the Pirates that night!

Not a bad day!

Thanks for reading!

Comments
  1. […] And let’s be serious, do you really think I wasn’t influenced by Tony’s weekly Miscellaneous Miscellany Monday when I started my Some Monday Randomness??? […]

Leave a Reply

