Some Monday Randomness…

Posted: July 2, 2012 in Uncategorized

1) I know I’ve been writing a lot of random posts lately.

Lay off!

It’s just how I think.

No but seriously, this is literally just a massive brain dump and a look inside my head (scary, I know). Luckily, I do have a few posts of more substantial material in the works and possibly even a guest post!

For those of you who don’t know, I am graduating chiropractic school in a few weeks and with that, I feel it’s good to take the time to reflect on the past few years of my life. Listen, I know I have a ton to learn and giving advice or offering insight may seem a bit premature.  However, if my experience or situation can help one person out there (chiro or not) I feel it is worth it to publish my thoughts.

When thinking about what I wanted to share over the next month,  this one little quote kept appearing in my head from the late Jim Valvano:

It’s so important to know where you are. I know where I am right now. How do you go from where you are to where you want to be? I think you have to have an enthusiasm for life. You have to have a dream, a goal. You have to be willing to work for it.

Honestly, I’m not even sure why this kept popping into my head but really, it’s fantastic.

Oh, and if you haven’t ever watched his speech… you are most certainly welcome.

2) I took a group golf lesson this weekend and I just found it amazing how proper movement patterns and cues span the spectrum of activities, if you will.

For example, when talking about stance, Don (the golf pro) used these cues:

1) Flat Back

2) Butt Back

3) Chest Tall

4) Neck Straight

Ok, now let’s look at a deadlifting  cue compared to the golf cue:

1) Neutral Spine (Flat Back)

2) Hip Hinge (Butt Back)

3) Chest Out/Shoulders Back/Engage the Lats (Chest Tall)

4) Pack the Neck (Neck Straight)

Now realize, this is the bottom position of the deadlift and we would never get down this low in our golf stance (well unless you are Kevin Costner in Tin Cup and you are putting with the back-end of gardening equipment) BUT there certainly will be a point near the top of the lift where the golf stance and deadlift will look almost identical.

3) I was watching an old season of Hard Knocks over the weekend featuring the Dallas Cowboys and I think I figured out why they have not won in a while (other than the fact that Wade Phillips was the coach, T.O. was on the team, and Jerry Jones is the General Manager).

Every time they showed the team lifting weights, all players were doing two exercises: Bench Press and Bicep Curls.

Call me crazy (or at least someone who passes judgement based on tv editing) but that’s just ludicrous!

Leave a Reply

