Covering the last 3.5 years in 1000 words or less..Part I (by Jake Altman)

Posted: July 5, 2012 in Uncategorized

Today we have a special guest post from my good friend, classmate, and supervisor (long story but basically when a bunch of us first moved in together, Jake told the pizza guy that he was the supervisor of the house. So now that’s what we call him, or ‘Soup’ for short). This is Part I of  a two-part series and I know you will be impressed. 

Jake, welcome to the party…

When Justin approached me (via a text message) about contributing to a blog post to sum up some central themes we’ve learned over the past 3.5 years we’ve spent in chiropractic school, I was admittedly apprehensive to say the least.  I enjoyed school, I enjoy writing, I enjoy learning, and I enjoy blogs; but would I enjoy writing a blog about what we learned at school? With his support, I decided to take a leap of faith to see how this whole blogosphere works.  Please feel free to share your thoughts/suggestions below as I may perhaps have my own blog in the next few months…

Over the past 3.5 years, my classmates and I have been on a journey of sorts. We started out as strangers, all excited to begin our chiropractic school education, and over the next several trimesters – and unknowingly at the time – we would laugh, cry, learn, sweat, travel, urinate, stay up all night, and cut up cadavers together.  We were guided on this journey by the powers that be – our school’s set curriculum, board exam dates, seminar schedules, and far too many midterms – all leading towards the common goal of becoming a chiropractor one day.  Now that this day is imminent, I can speak for myself that despite how much information has been shoved into every orifice I own (figuratively and unfortunately literally in some cases of late night studying), I find myself more lost and even more uneducated than ever. Lately, I’ve candidly found myself staring blankly in the mirror, impending graduation on the near horizon, looking for answers to questions I never thought I might have:  Which job should I choose? Will I be happy with this job? Does it matter how many sick and/or vacation days I may have? Did I really like Monica more than Rachel on Friends, or was that just a phase? Will reading “Filthy” Shades of Grey really help me be more in touch with my feminine side? …I digress.

I’m sorry Phoebe, but you were just too weird for my tastes.

S&M? Still a crappy book.

But it was shortly after one of the aforementioned mirror-staring, life-pondering scenarios when I was rocked in the face by a fist full of knowledge, from none other than Justin David Mark Sanchez Rabinowitz. You see, we had written a Powerpoint several months earlier for a club at school and it was only when I was reading through the thoughts we had to share to all of the youngins that day that I really begun to stop “missing the forest for the trees” (a saying I very much enjoy but usually say incorrectly) and finally start appreciating the forest for all of its beauty and splendor.

Pretty Trees.

Life is not about the minutiae, getting caught up in the details, or getting the final answer right to a math question. The reason the teachers always had us show our work (a premise I very much fought at the time) is so that we knew how we got to the end result.  The reminder and much-needed wakeup call the information in the Powerpoint provided me can be summed up in this simple, detail-dumping, whole forest approach manner; DO and DO NOT.

It is with that long-winded introduction that I now edumacate you with the truths as Justin and I saw them/still see them to be:

(The following has been adapted/borrowed/accumulated/blatantly stolen from many, many people, fortune cookie fortunes, teabag tag words of wisdom and other various sources)

Do: Become really good friends with smart, motivated people.

This idea shaped my entire education.  It made me uncomfortable, jealous, and even vengeful.  But I become smarter, stronger, better at listening, learning, speaking, and understanding by being pushed by the amazing people I surrounded myself with.

Do Not: Hang out with people who think everything sucks, who are not willing to learn, who are not open to change, who are stagnant with their ideologies, and/or who suck in general.

Do: READ! Anything and everything that interests you. Not just your school books, but any books that will make you better at your chosen craft.

  • “One hour per day of study in your chosen field is all it takes.  One hour per day of study will put you at the top of your field within three years.  Within five years you’ll be a national authority.  In seven years, you can be one of the best people in the world at what you do.” – Earl Nightingale
  • “Formal education will make you a living; self-education will make you a fortune.” – Jim Rohn
  • “The desire to continue to learn beyond school is paramount.”- Ken Krenshaw, Head Athletic Trainer Arizona Diamondbacks
  • “I am learning all the time. The tombstone will be my diploma.” – Eartha Kitt

Do Not: Think you’ve learned everything already.  Once you stop learning, you stop evolving.  If you think you know everything, then do your best to remove your head from your derrière and go try to teach someone else.

  • “Get over the idea that only children should spend their time in study. Be a student so long as you still have something to learn, and this will mean all your life.” – Henry L. Doherty
  • “Anyone who stops learning is old, whether at twenty or eighty. Anyone who keeps learning stays young. The greatest thing in life is to keep your mind young.” – Henry Ford

“I don’t remember a bone being there.”

TO BE CONTINUED!!!

Quotes obtained from http://www.readfaster.com/learningquotes.asp

Comments
  1. Sarah Abbott says:

    Love it Jake! Can’t wait for part II. Make a blog.

  2. […] Covering the last 3.5 years in 1000 words or less..Part I (by Jake Altman) […]

Leave a Reply

