Controversy Leads to Learning (and we all win)

Posted: September 3, 2012 in Uncategorized

If you follow me through the machine that is Facebook, then you probably saw that my last blog drew some serious controversy. In case you missed it, here is the thread from the Rehab to Performance club (NYCC) page. Coincidently (or not), this post also happened to be my most popular of all time. I guess everyone really loves them some crazy.

How else could anyone stomach an entire season of the Kardashian’s?

Realize, when I sat down to write that post, it wasn’t specifically to create a stir. Like most of my posts, it was simply something I thought of during the day and I wanted to share. It was a thought process, or a ‘what if’ analysis of the situation. Really it was simply the question,

If I didn’t know where this person hurt, would it change my findings as to why this person hurt?

Anyway, I’m getting a bit off topic.

What I really wanted to talk about was what happens when people disagree or don’t like what you have to say.

While I am in no way an expert blogger or even semi-popular, I certainly have gotten questions about writing (mostly from students). I think if I could tell them one thing, it would be that you must accept the responsibility that comes with publishing work for the world to see. This isn’t a perfect universe, things that taste good usually aren’t healthy, and not everyone is going to love everything you have to say.Deal with it.

Furthermore, I have never gotten more out of a blog post that I have published than the previous one. Why? It inspired a discussion. And, some of the people who chimed in are people who I look up to a great deal. Some, I would pay out-of-pocket (and have) just to hear their opinion.

You see, my mentors have all told me the same thing. Private practice can get very lonely, very quickly. There is nobody to bounce ideas off of, get a second opinion, or just keep you honest and on your toes. Therefore, as much as technology has its downfalls, a huge positive is the ability to stay connected. At times it’s an insight into a thought process, a tough patient encounter, a cool new exercise, or even a glimpse into someone’s clinic.

I believe these lessons are invaluable as a new or veteran clinician.

In the end, I always say the same thing. If one person learned (and maybe laughed) from any of my posts, I think I have done my job. And from the feedback I have gotten from some close friends, I have certainly done my job.

And on that note…

Have a great day!

Leave a Reply

