The SFMA, Movement Wellness, and Reverse Lunge Patterns

Posted: October 22, 2012 in Uncategorized

1) I FINALLY got to attend the SFMA (Selective Functional Movement Assessment) seminar this weekend in Philadelphia.

As I have stated before, I had already been using the Top Tier assessment with my patients, and I was super excited to get the ‘full package’ so I could begin to use the system as it was designed. I have to say, I don’t know if I have ever left a seminar more excited.

I’m a systems guy, they fascinate me. This system is totally based on common sense (don’t mistake this for being easy to learn and master) and gives us the groundwork to truly figure out what is going on with our patients’. On this blog, I always talk about patient empowerment and home care, and I feel the SFMA is Doctor/Therapist empowering in the sense that we are no longer throwing darts and praying we hit a bullseye.

To me, there is something very powerful about breaking down a MSF (Multi-Segmental Flexion) pattern and finding that you can have a true tissue shortening on one leg and a stability problem on the other AND be able to prescribe and treat the patient accordingly. I think the only way we can truly empower our patient is if we are empowered ourselves and believe and understand, to the best of our ability, what is truly going on with each patient encounter.

2) On a similar note, I was talking to a Physical Therapist this weekend and he was excited to learn the SFMA because he felt he now has a system to do wellness or movement checkups. He talked about being able to assess someone who may not have pain and still be able to find dysfunction, give them some corrective work and then send them off for a few months to work on those patterns. Considering I wrote about this  awhile ago in Why your dentists shouldn’t be the only one doing yearly check-ups, I obviously agree with him and feel it is certainly another viable option in which we can help people.

3) Finally, I think something that is generally overlooked (at least by me) during a Reverse Lunge pattern is Anterior Core Strength.

We have all had clients who only ‘feel it’ in the quads as this is usually the limiting factor. In the past when cueing this exercise, I would often tell a person to push-off the heel and not let the knee completely migrate over the toe. While these are certainly valid, I found that during my experimentation today (my workout), the biggest change occurred when I made a conscious effort to not let me anterior core buckle (resisting spinal flexion and an accentuated anterior pelvic tilt) and actively bracing. I automatically felt more upright, and the stress of the exercise moved predominantly to the posterior chain.

Leave a Reply

