My Seminar Experience from Hell (and what I learned from it) Part II

Posted: October 25, 2012 in Uncategorized

fact

Today I will be sharing Part II of the my three part series concerning some of the lessons I learned from a seminar I recently attended. In short, it was quite the experience. In long (if that’s a phrase), just read Part I, here

Lesson #2

Educatate people about their pain, don’t scare them.

The message that was preached at this marketing seminar was pretty clear.

Make people believe something is wrong with them

The basic premise is that everyone has aches and pains and it is our job to convince them they have a serious problem that needs to be treated in our office.

In order to do this, you sometimes have to make an emotional plea that can get very personal. I can’t remember exactly how they worded it but something along the lines of,

And most of all, you owe it to yourself and your family to at least come to the office for a consult

Again, educate, not scare. (my opinion)

An example:

A person who seems to be experiencing tension headaches.

Rather than scare the person, simply explain the rationale:

Many times headaches can be multi-factorial. They can be from a bad reaction to certain foods, hormones, stress levels, or maybe something so simple as muscle tension. In many cases, it is a combination. If you have never had anyone assess you before or look into your situation, I would be happy to help.

…..

On the other end of the spectrum, I certainly do believe there is a time and place for helping people understand that pain is not normal.

This is most relevant when going through the SFMA Top Tier assessments. Often, I go through the ranges with a patient, and ask if they have pain. A very common response is,

No not really, nothing more than the normal pain

Excuse me?!?!!?

There is certainly something to be said about educating a patient to believe that pain is a problem and that in fact, “normal pain” is not normal.

Again, there is a fine line between scaring a patient and making them understand that they should not have to live with pain.

I gues to reiterate my last post, I believe as much as we must practice our diagnostic skills, practicing the way in which we educate and communicate with our patients’ is paramount to the success of our clinical practice.

Leave a Reply

