Tragedy and bELieve

Posted: December 17, 2012 in Uncategorized

As you all know, our country has suffered another unexplainable tragedy. I don’t think there is anything I can say on this blog that will change the situation. I also do not want to use this blog as a platform for political filibustering on my thoughts concerning gun control. Quite frankly, I think that attitude is one that takes away from honoring the victims lost in Newtown, Connecticut.

As much as we now question the values of current society, I think we can all take solace in the fact that there are many, many  more people in this world doing unbelievably good. People who continue to inspire us by their attitude, actions, and overall positive spirit are not hard to find.

For an example of this, look no further than New Jersey’s own Eric LeGrand. Eric, a former Rutgers football player, was tragically paralyzed during a college football game. He has since become a national hero because of his attitude and a smile that lights up a room.

I mention this because I recently had a chance to read Eric’s autobiography, Believe: My Faith and the Tackle that Changed My Life. 

At times like this, when we really can’t understand why things happen, we have to turn our focus to people who inspire us to be better. Eric certainly does that. Because of this, I certainly recommend you check out his book and story.

Leave a comment