2012: My Year in Review

Posted: December 26, 2012 in Uncategorized

Today I wanted to share 3 big events in my life from the past year. Some good, some great, and some not so great… Enjoy!!!

1) I’m a Doctor-  The biggest change that 2012 brought was the transition from student to doctor. Initially, this was a change I took lightly. I kept telling myself that just because I crossed the stage and received that Doctoral degree, it didn’t  mean I changed as a person. What I failed to realize was that people now look at me a little different. Parents trust me with their kid’s health. Others hope I can do SOMETHING to help them get out of the pain that every other doctor told them would not go away.

This is truly humbling. Because of this, I certainly need to hold myself to a higher standard. Crossing that stage did in fact make me a different person. It did give me more responsibility and it did change the way others view me and how I need to view myself.

2) People Actually Read My Stuff-  Another huge change in 2012 has been THIS BLOG. Quite frankly, it started because I enjoyed reading other blogs, was really bored in student clinic, and thought I had some things worth putting on paper. 80 blog posts later, I am in the process of some big moves and hopefully some more useful content. The cool thing about my blog (other than the fact that I write it) is that hopefully people, who read it, can see me grow as a student, a doctor, and as a person throughout the journey. As I stated above, this blog started for me as a student and many of the posts are clinical thoughts or ideas I may have had at the time. Being able to look back 80 posts to see what I was thinking about a year ago is a pretty cool thing.

Make no mistake, as much as I love this blog and the feeling of putting out a quality post, it is hard freakin’ work!! After experiencing it myself, I can say I have a new-found respect for those who write their blog as a ‘side-job’ and consistently put out new, quality content.

When I asked Dr. Kathy Dooley, my former professor, and current Wonder Woman, how she finds time to post a new “Dooley Noted” everyday, she had this to say, ” The subway…I spend copious time on he subway.”

I responded by saying, “I gotta to get one of those.”

In all seriousness, maintaining a blog is no easy task. There are times when I feel like I have nothing to say and that nobody really cares. It seems that whenever I have that thought, someone sends me a really nice message with a compliment and tells me to keep up the good work. That’s what keeps me writing. So if you are one of those people, thank you.

3) I Failed- Yeah, I said it. It’s not the first time and it won’t be the last. Last year, while doing my student internship, I applied for  a program that would let me work within another chiropractor’s office rather than in the student clinic. An ‘Honors Program’ if you will. Well, as you may have guessed, I was not accepted. Not only was I not accepted, but I was the only one who applied. Basically, the doctor chose to have nobody instead of me.
I think it would be easy to sit here and tell you everything was peaches over the last year, but that sure isn’t reality. With an effort to be transparent, I think it is important to share some good and some bad, as nothing is perfect.
Or, as Dr. Tom Lotus says, “Everyone that posts on Facebook tells me about their success. I want to know about your failures.” In the end, this is what we learn from.
It did not take me long to realize that I needed to learn from the experience, rather than just be pissed. And as a former athlete, there is no better motivation than being told you aren’t good enough. Just in case I ever forget, I keep my application on the Desktop of my computer. Sort of a friendly reminder, I guess.
I’d be lying if I said that experience didn’t leave a HUGE chip on my shoulder. In the end, the people I am lucky enough to treat in practice will be the ones to benefit because I will always try to prove that doctor made a mistake by not choosing me.
Without failure, there is no success.
Leave a Reply

